London’s International Animation Festival

I went to the festival event on Sunday, which had the theme of ‘Playing with Emotion’.

Immediately the audience was thrown into a chaotic, intense short film titled ‘Summers Puke is Winters Delight’ by Japanese Director Sawako Kabuki.

The plot is hidden behind mind bending camera moves and their confusing transitions. Essentially the female character has bulimia, and as her illness worsens the man she’s in love with stops wanting to sleep with her and she’s left alone. Once you realise what the film is about I think it gets better. It’s more impressive, and I like the experimental style.

The other 12 shorts are listed below:DSC_0173

The most impressive one for me, and the one I voted for as No.1 is Moczarski’s Curse. I don’t know if it’s because of my interest in history and politics, or if it was the amount of effort and talent that went into the oil painted short, but it really stood out.

I liked going to an Animation Festival, seeing the work on a big screen really made me want to create something to enter into a Festival. I want to go to many more in the future.

Leave a comment