Finishing Stamping Out Disease

I finished this project with the final six designs.

I’m pleased with the final result. I used grey tones to accentuate the image in the centre, and reinforce the concept of mental illness and the way it bleaches out colour. I also used the USA Forever design on the right hand side for the same reason as I outlined in a previous post.

One thing I’d change is the background within the flowers. I wanted a Rorschach pattern behind the flowers, but only realised this after I’d already started colouring the flowers. I designed them on a larger sheet of paper, less than A4 but larger than A5, and scanned them in to edit in photoshop. The rest of the layers such as the overlapping grey foreground and the writing, were added afterwards.

This process took longer than I’d anticipated because I didn’t know how to create oblong triangular shapes, but once I did it was easy to use the same layer and use the bucket tool to change the entire colour.

Although it isn’t written on the stamp what the flower shown does, I like the subtlety that this provides, and although it’s not obvious that the plants are medical, I like the finished product.

One thought on “Finishing Stamping Out Disease

Leave a comment